architecture certification SOA

SOA Certified Architect: Module 3 – SOA Design & Architecture

My journey towards obtaining the SOA Certified Architect status continues…

Module 3 – SOA Design and Architecture marks the half way point in the certification course and covers the service-oriented architectural model and the service-orientation design paradigm. It also covers the unique characteristics and dynamics that constitute service-oriented solution logic.

It’s quite a comprehensive and information packed course with approximately half of the content devoted to the SOA Principals of Service Design as established in the book of the same name. The module covers approximately 10 subject areas as follows:

  1. History of Service-Orientation and SOA Theory
  2. Service-Orientation vs. “Silo” based Design
  3. Distinguishing Characteristics of the SOA Model
  4. Understanding Services and Service Capabilities
  5. Complex Service Composition Design, Composition Runtime Roles and Responsibilities
  6. The Service-Orientation Design Paradigm
  7. “Contract First” Design, Standardized Service Contracts, and Uniform Contracts
  8. Service Loose Coupling and Coupling Types, Service Abstraction and Information Hiding
  9. Service Reusability and Agnostic Design, Service Autonomy and Runtime Control
  10. Service Statelessness and State Deferral, Service Discoverability and Interpretability

The course materials then conclude with a brief introduction to the contents of the next course module which covers SOA design patterns.

Yet again the content is delivered using a powerpoint-like presentation style which is brief and to the point. The 8 SOA design principals are each covered in roughly equal measure and with good clarity. Some effort is made to show how the principals relate, interact and support each other. It’s also clear that the principles themselves offer a great deal of structure and provide the reader with a valuable cognitive framework that helps you to understand, apply and articulate the benefits of applying each principal during service design.

The exam for this module is as challenging as ever. It takes roughly one hour and consists of around 50 questions that test your understanding of the course materials and the SOA design principals. Obviously, passing the exam is great, but the real long term value of this course module will no doubt come from the cognitive framework that the detailed study of the SOA principles bestows upon you. Definitely highly recommended.

Other blog entries in this series…

SOA Certified Architect Module 1 – Fundamentals
SOA Certified Architect Module 2 – Technologies & Concepts
SOA Certified Architect Module 3 – Design & Architecture
SOA Certified Architect Module 8 – Advanced Design & Architecture
SOA Certified Architect Module 9 – Advanced Design & Architecture Practical (Lab)