Announcing: Trip Computer for Android

The reason that I’ve been so bad a posting recently is that I caught the Android development bug. I’ve been using all my spare time working on a new Android application called ‘Trip Computer’.

Trip Computer is a cost and distance tracker that you can use to help with business mileage expenses, or for leisure any time you want to know how far you’ve travelled, which direction you’ve been going in or how long you’ve been going. You can use it walking, cycling, running, in the car, on the train or even on boats or planes (subject to the usual flight restrictions).

TripComputer-app-framed-shadow

Working with Android has been the most brilliant experience, it really is very cool. I’ve also been exclusively using the new Android Studio IDE from Google (pre-beta) including it’s built in Gradle build system.

Android Studio is really good. Announced at last years Google I/O conference it’s based on IntelliJ Idea Community Edition and already it’s giving Eclipse a real run for its money with its strong integration into the Android eco-system. The learning curve has been quite forgiving and the IDE quality and stability are very surprising considering its not a fully released product.

Gradle is a different story. I can take it or leave it to be honest. As a Maven user, I can see lots of issues and nasty cludges (like the poor file ‘filter’ and replace experience which is really useful and much better in Maven). The learning curve has been steep, possibly because Android projects are not standard Java projects. But no pain no gain as they say and I do feel like I’ve come out the other side stronger and more flexible as a result.

I did pick up some handy Android hints and tips along the way, which no doubt I’ll share when I get more time.

You can download the full app for free and try it out for yourself. It’s fairly simple in UI / UX terms, but hopefully it’s got enough features to be a fun addition you your phone or tablet. I’ve tried to support the widest range of devices possible so anything with Froyo onwards and the right hardware should be just fine…

Get it on Google Play

